SOCA GOLD 2019 DEBUTS AT NUMBER 1 ON BILLBOARD REGGAE CHART- Album Release Celebrated with Live Launch Event & More

VP Records is proud to announce that Soca Gold 2019, released Friday June 22nd has debuted at number one on the Billboard Reggae Chart! The compilation features best soca songs of the season, including work from international artists that represent the best of the Caribbean (Trinidad, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Grenada and more).

Some of the songs featured in this years compilation include exclusives “Come Inside” by Sean Caruth and “Sweet Woman” by Tony Prescott as well as carnival favorites “Issa Snack” by Nessa Preppy“Savannah Grass” by Kes and many more. The two-disc CD set includes 17 tracks on Disc 1 and a Soca Gold 2019 Mega-Mix by Team Soca- DJ Spice on Disc 2.  
The compilation’s iconic album art, featuring tropical motifs and vibrant mesmerizing hues, have become a hallmark of Soca culture and the muses that inspire it. While capturing the narrative of Caribbean people through Soca music and stunning imagery, VP’s Soca Gold continues to influence & curate the sounds of soca-reggae. When asked to develop a concept for Soca Gold 2019, Senior Creative Director Stephanie Chin – granddaughter to VP’s co-founder and reggae pioneer, Patricia Chin – had only one word in mind: “Women”.  

“I wanted to channel the beautiful legacy of soca music, which is meant to celebrate and embrace the Caribbean woman. The art for Soca Gold 2019 is a visual companion to the stories being shared through soca on the album,” said Stephanie Chin. “Everyone immediately thinks ‘sexy women in gorgeous carnival costumes’ when they hear “soca”, but it is so much more. Caribbean women contribute to the global art community in so many ways; we needed a team of women who not only saw that vision but also added to it.” 

The cover features models, Altea Kelly and Nzingha Jones shot through the dreamy lens of photographer Adrienne Raquel, edgy graphics by designer Rebecca Lovinsquy, and 90’s inspired neon sunglasses handmade by rising fashion designer, Mona Thomas. Paired with Janie Richard’s sultry makeup artistry and captured on film by videographer Annie Bercy, the shoot was breathtakingly editorial, accented with a seductive, futuristic haze. Alongside assistant creative director Christina Chin and production assistant Yuko Nakamara, Soca Gold 2019 was styled, shot, arranged, designed, accessorized and assisted entirely by women.
To celebrate the release of Soca Gold 2019, the label hosted their third installment in the VP Live Series with Soca Gold Live on June 29th, live from Usain Bolt’s Tracks and Records in Montego Bay Jamaica. The concert featured performances by Tony Prescott, Jamesy P, Tizzy, Alison Hinds, Ricky T and was hosted by Kimberly “Weezy” Hyman and DJ Crazy Neil. The event was also a platform for the announcement of VP Records brand new web show, “On The Riddim”.

All artists either currently or previously had a track featured on Soca Gold and represent an array of Caribbean Islands. Previous multimedia showcases included Strictly The Best Live in January 2019 and most recently Christopher Martin’s live album showcase for his new album “And Then” on May 3rd. Like its predecessors, Soca Gold Live (presented by RJR Gleaner Group) will be streamed live on VP Records YouTube page, air on top Jamaica TV station RETV, heard on radio stations globally and broadcasted later on TVJ.

Additionally, a watch party in New York was held the same day and time at the Maracas venue in Queens from 8pm-11pm and featured music from Chinee of Triple9 HD Radio. The New York watch Party was hosted by Queen Bremmer of “On The Riddim” and WIN TV.

VP Records is also excited about its recent partnership with FITBK and Soca Gold Fitness that is sure to take over the Brooklyn and Queens area with the help of FITBK™ (a NYC based health and fitness initiative inspired by international and Caribbean music), After the project launch, FITBK™ will host multiple themed events as part of their Coney Island Soca Explosion (held on consecutive Saturdays in July and August) beginning July 27th. See video of dance class here:

Visit for a detailed schedule of FITBK™ classes, locations, and times. 

“Every year, Soca becomes more and more recognized by the masses as a genre of music that brings joy and happiness to so many people.” said Edwin Howell, A&R at VP Records, Retail Store Manager and Program Director for Reggae King Radio. “I am proud of this year’s set of songs as they represent what is trending right now with new and classic artists that make good music for carnival and beyond,” he concluded.    

Soca Gold 2019 TRACKLIST  
Disc 1 1. Savanah Grass – Kes The Band 
2. Marc – Fay-Ann Lyons 
3. Brace Up – Machel Montano 
4. Issa Snack – Nessa Preppy X Travis World 
5. Trouble In The Morning – V’Ghn 
6. Rag Storm (feat. 3 Canal) – Super Blue 
7. Water Blessings – Iwer George 
8. Funky Business – Fimba 
9. Soca Land – Jamesy P 
10. Vent – Teddyson John
11. My Sweet Sweet Woman – Tony Prescott 
12. Come Inside – Sean Caruth 
13. Cyan Function – Rikki Jai 
14. Wine After Wine – Hypasounds 
15. Manager – Jus D 
16. Feting Family – Mikey 
17. Pull It Up – Ricky T  

Disc 2 
1. Soca Gold 2019 Mega-Mix by Team Soca- DJ Spice  

Leave us a comment

Comments are closed.